On October 15, 2020, Florida announced the new minimum wage rate of $8.65 per hour for 2021. Florida’s minimum wage rate is adjusted annually to reflect changes in the cost of living. The minimum hourly rate for tipped employees in Florida will be $5.63 per hour in 2021.
Florida law requires the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) to calculate a minimum wage rate each year. The annual calculation is based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2020.
Employers are required to conspicuously display the 2021 minimum wage poster in a location where employees can easily see it. Download the poster (English, Spanish and Creole versions available) for FREE from the DEO webpage.