The increase to the state of Florida’s minimum wage is effective on September 30, 2021. The new minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour, and at least $6.98 per hour for tipped employees. All employers must pay their employees the hourly state minimum wage for hours worked. If the employer does not pay the employee the minimum wage, civil action may take place against the employer for a violation of Florida’s minimum wage law. Every September 30 following, the minimum wage will increase $1.00 an hour until 2026. The vote for the increase of Florida’s minimum wage occurred on November 3, 2020, where Amendment 2 was approved by Florida voters.
View the official notice and minimum wage schedule here. As an employer, remember to update your minimum wage poster.